Originally known as Nuestra Señora de Guia, this historical fort is one of the must visit places in Intramuros. From its iconic semicircular stone structures, well-manicured gardens, and remnants from the Battle of Manila in 1945–visitors shouldn’t pass up on the chance to visit this centuries old stone edifice.
1. Built between 1585 to 1587, Baluarte de San Diego is considered as the oldest stone fort in Manila.
2. It was designed by Antonio Sedeño, a Jesuit priest under the supervision of Governor General Santiago de Vera.
3. The fort was later incorporated as part of the walls of Intramuros but was abandoned after its foundations were determined to be unstable.
4. Over time, several elements were added from its original iteration–this includes the semi-circular structures called orillons. These structures, commonly found in old fortresses, helped shield and provide defense for guns and soldiers on the flank.
5. Baluarte de San Diego is composed of three concentric structures which made use pink terracotta finishes and brick tiles.
6. During the British invasion of Manila in 1762, Baluarte de San Diego was destroyed and was rebuilt a few years later–in 1764.
7. As with most structures in Luzon and most of Manila, the fort was severely damaged during the earthquakes that struck Manila in 1863 and 1880.
8. Baluarte de San Diego was finally restored in 1979 as spearheaded by the Philippine Navy “Seabees” which was organized by the Armed Forces Ladies Committee and the National Historical Institute and the National Museum. Further restorations were done by the Intramuros Administration in 1979.
Baluarte de San Diego is open daily from 8AM to 5PM. Entrance fees start at 70Php for adults and 50Php for students, senior citizens, and children. T: 02 527 2961
The Manila Project
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Instagram